President Ferdinand “Bongbong” Marcos Jr. urged local chief executives to remain open to innovations and ideas and work with the private sector to employ the best solutions for their constituents.

President Ferdinand ‘Bongbong’ Marcos Jr. administers the oath of office to the National Executive Committee and National Directorate Members of the 2022-2025 League of Municipalities of the Philippines (LMP) at the Ceremonial Hall in Malacañang on September 30, 2022. (Malacañang photos)

Marcos said this as he administered the oath of office to the National Executive Committee and National Directorate Members of the 2022-2025 League of Municipalities of the Philippines (LMP) in Malacañang on September 30.

In his speech, the President advised the local leaders to welcome innovations and engage the private sector, especially in infrastructure and digital transformation.

“In seeking and employing the best solutions for our people, let us be open to all the latest innovations, new ideas, and fresh perspectives,” he said.

“Let us include private partnerships to maximize the service that we give to the people. Let us use that to implement critical projects in each locality, especially those related to infrastructure and digitalization,” he added.

At the same time, Marcos assured the local executives of support from the national government in undertaking preparations for the implementation of full devolution of functions, including the realization of Devolution Transition Plans for their respective localities.

“As we prepare for the full devolution of this year, let me assure you that this national government will do, to the best of our ability, to help you meet the demands of this devolution, including the realization of your respective transition plans,” he said.

“The provision of the local government support fund is to ensure that no LGU (local government unit) shall be left behind in the implementation of full devolution,” he added.

Meanwhile, the President congratulated the LMP’s newly elected officers and directorate members and reiterated their role in promoting a people-centered bureaucracy within the communities they have sworn to serve during their term as local chief executives.

“We thank the outgoing officers of the League of Municipalities of the Philippines and congratulate the newly-elected officials and members who took their oath of service today,” he said in a tweet.

“Together, may we take good care of the trust placed in us by adhering to our pledge to be just and morally upright leaders as we strive to realize our goals for our beloved nation,” he added.

Mayor Joseph Bernos of La Paz, Abra, takes the helm as National President, following LMP President Emeritus Luis Singson of Narvacan, Ilocos Sur, who served from 2019 to 2022.

The LMP was created under Section 496 of the Local Government Code of 1991 with the mandate to “organize for the primary purpose of ventilating, articulating and crystallizing issues affecting municipal government administration, and securing, through proper and legal means, solutions thereto.”

Source: Manila Bulletin (