Court of Appeals

Two more associate justices of the Court of Appeals (CA) and 30 more regional trial court (RTC) judges have been appointed by President Duterte.

The new appointments in the judiciary were transmitted to Chief Justice Alexander Gesmundo last Tuesday night, March 8, by Executive Secretary Salvador C. Medialdea.

Appointed were CA Associate Justices Ronald Suva Tolentino and Rogelio Gilzano Largo. Tolentino was a RTC judge, while Largo was a private law practitioner and professor.

Justices Tolentino and Largo took over the posts vacated by retired Associate Justices Stephen C. Cruz and Danton Q. Bueser.

Tolentino and Largo’s appointments brought to 14, the number of CA associate justices appointed by the President since last January.

Earlier appointed were CA Associate Justices Mercedita G. Dadole Ignacio, Jaime Fortunato A. Caringal, Eduardo S. Ramos Jr., Jill Rose S. Jaugan Lo, Jose Lorenzo R. Dela Rosa, Rex Bernardo L. Pascual, Emily L. San Gaspar Gito, Ana Marie Train Mas, Maximo M. De Leon, Jacinto Gavino Fajardo Jr., Jennifer Joy Chua Ong, and Michael P. Ong.

Last February, the President appointed retired Commission on Elections Commissioner Antonio T. Kho Jr. as SC associate justice. He took over the post vacated last Jan. 9 by retired Associate Justice Rosmari D. Carandang who has been appointed by the SC as chancellor of the Philippine Judicial Academy, the judiciary’s education arm.

With the appointment of 30 more trial court judges, the President has appointed since last February 106 judges for the RTCs, municipal trial courts, municipal circuit trial courts, municipal trial courts in cities, and metropolitan trial courts.

Regional Trial Court (RTC)

The new RTC judges are Abraham S. Marcaban, Branch 11, Sindangan, Zamboanga del Norte; Ruben G. Pajarito, Branch 16, Zamboanga City; Emily Zen Y. Chua, Branch 6, Prosperidad, Agusan del Sur; Ferdinand R. Villanueva, Branch 7, Bayugan, Agusan del Sur; Den Ryan R. Cagas, Branch 55, Trento, Agusan del Sur; Grace L. Yulo, Branch 15, Ozamis City; Jamel T. Mamutuk, Branch 44, Initao, Misamis Oriental; Gemma G. Betonio, Branch 4, Panabo, Davao del Norte;

Marie Estrellita S. Tolentino Rojas, Branch 17, Davao City; Paolo R. Aquino, Branch 49, Alabel, Sarangani; Andres B. Mission Jr., Branch 37, General Santos City; Verna Kate B. Santos, Branch 1-FC (Family Court), City of Isabela, Basilan; Nestor R. Angeles, Branch 3-FC, Dipolog City; Florendo B. Opay, Branch 4-FC, Dapitan City, Zamboanga del Norte; Mundlyn G. Misal Martin, Branch 5-FC, Sindangan, Zamboanga del Norte; Cholyn Mae M. Ruiz Bonbon, Branch 6-FC, Pagadian City, Zamboanga del Sur; Ivy F. Damayo Elvina, Branch 7-FC, Zamboanga City;

Juliemie G. Guangco, Branch 8-FC, Molave, Zamboanga del Sur; Orwin Lloyd M. Famor, Branch 9-FC, Ipil, Zamboanga Sibugay; Regina F. Sison Montiel, Branch 1-FC, Nabunturan, Compostela Valley; Maria Fe Orig Maloloy-on, Branch 5-FC, City of Digos, Davao del Sur; Zarah D. Aguisando Silvosa, Branch 6-FC, Davao City; Cheryll Ann C. Chamen Paronda, Branch 7-FC, Sta. Cruz, Davao del Sur; Semiramis Bituin C. Castro, Branch 8-FC, City of Mati, Davao Oriental;

Alona T. Labtic Pioquinto, Branch 9-FC, Lupon, Davao Oriental; Fatima K. San Pedro Eugenio, Branch 10-FC, Alabel, Sarangani; Jerome C. Beatisola, Branch 11-FC, General Santos City; Alena Gale H. Palileo Yabes, Branch 12-FC, City of Koronadal, South Cotabato; Kim E. Ortiz Liquido, Branch 14-FC, City of Bislig, Surigao del Sur; and Conchita D. Montecillo, Branch 15-FC, City of Tandag, Surigao del Sur.

Source: Manila Bulletin (